top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Life's Too Precious

As most people know this is a blog mainly focused on my travels. But, I wanted to take a second to write about something personal.

We all have people in our lives who we are close to and over time we learn to love these people and build strong relationships with each and every one of them.

A woman named Violet, also known as my Great Aunt, is one of the most kind-hearted individuals I know. From a young age, visitng grandma including seeing the great grandparents and of course my most amazing Aunt Violet. Every time I went to her house she always had homemade peanut-brittle, which was aboslutely amazing. She also had this hammock that sat right in the middle of her living room of which she always sat in. Sometimes if the great niece's and nephew's were lucky we could sit in it...

There would be days my grandma and I would go over to visit with her and she would be sleeping on the couch facing the television. We were always soo afraid we would startle her coming in to wake her up but most of the time before we even got inside, she knew we were there.

I remember the multiple times I read to her. I had an assignment in middle school to read "To Kill a Mockingbird" and I can remember sitting down at the kitchen table reading the book from beginning to end. She always had the biggest smile on her face when I came to visit, read to her, or play the piano (well pretend to play the piano that is..).

All these memories, I hold close to my heart. Its the little things in life that you do with one another that build relationships throughout time. I did just that with my Great Aunt Violet and I loved every minute spent with her.

About a week ago my dad informed me of my Aunt Violet having heart failure and not knowing how much time she might have. Of course being far away from home I wanted nothing but to see her and be with her.

Today, I was informed the she passed away last night. This was very hard for me to hear considering all of the wonderful times we have spent together including all of our apple and orange picking.

I know she is in a better place now. This just reminds me that life is so short and that we should cherish every second we have with the people we love.

I was very blessed to have the honor of knowing such a wonderful woman who taught my family and I many great things.

Rest in Peace Aunt Violet. I will love you. Forever & Always.


Riptide - Vance Joy
00:00 / 00:00
bottom of page